Find the Courage to Ask

Six months ago I was miserable at work.  I hated my job and was only staying for the paycheck.

I agonized over the decision to quit.  I wasn’t feeling fulfilled or challenged.  I wanted to do something more with my life.  But I also had plans to leave in a year for grad school.

Would one year be worth it?  Would it be enough time to learn and grow in a different position if I were to leave?  Would it be too long to feel stagnant if I stayed?  I didn’t know what to do and I kept returning to these questions time and time again as the days, weeks, and months slowly went by.

Then, I attended the World Domination Summit (WDS) in July.  The speakers were inspiring, the community was supportive, and every person I met there was trying to make the world a better place by doing what they loved.  It was absolutely amazing.

Throughout the summit, I felt so connected, inspired, and creative that I felt like a different person.  I remembered what it was like to feel happy again, and it made me realize just how unhappy I had been lately.

Something needed to change.

WDS gave me the final push to recognize that I couldn’t wait any longer.  I needed to make my life more livable.  I wasn’t getting what I needed out of work and it was time I did something about it.

I approached my boss during one of our weekly one on one meetings, and explained the situation to him.  He already knew I had been considering other opportunities, but this time I let him know that I had made the decision to leave even without having another opportunity lined up first.

We had a long discussion about why and what I wanted, and it came up that I would be willing to work part time, I just couldn’t do 40+ hours per week anymore.  A few weeks later, he came back to me with an offer for a part time position that would allow me to stay on the team but work on training instead of the production work I had been doing before.   It was perfect.  My role changed, my hours decreased significantly, and I got to do work that I actually enjoyed.

Having an open dialogue with my boss was the best action I could have taken.  I am so grateful for his support, flexibility, and willingness to help find a solution that works for both of us.  I was terrified of making the wrong decision before, thinking myself in circles trying to figure it out on my own.  But opening up the discussion with my boss allowed us to find a solution that I had never considered.  The act of asking gave me an entirely new opportunity and that is a lesson I will not soon forget.

Categories: In the USA | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Find the Courage to Ask

  1. What a great post! I can relate to this so well. Thank you for reminding me of the power of communication! 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

